Quick! I need a word that rhymes with… Moo?

Okay, so this isn’t a health blog. I’m not a nutrtionalist or a body builder or some kind of paleo guru. I’m just a dude.

But, I always think that if I find a useful way to do something that I haven’t found in my searches before, I might as well share it.

So let’s get down to it: psyllium husk. If you don’t know what it is, then move on… But if you’re one of the millions that are trying to have a happy time on the throne, then read on!

I used to sprinkpe this stuff on my porridge in the morning. A teaspoon was perfect, as it hardens everything and I just hate gooey, watery porridge.

But I am testing the effects of skipping breakfast, so I’m not having my normal dose of fibre. What’s the solution?

The obvious one is capsules, but they cost a fortune and I hate the idea that I’m paying for something that, really, is dirt cheap. A bag of psyllium husk lasts close to a year. 100 capsules? Not so much.

So after searching around the internet, the only solution seems to be mixing the husk in water or juice and drinking it down fast. I tried that… Man, do not try that! It was disgusting. It didn’t work. It was just a complete failure on every level. 

So, back to capsules… right?

Wrong!

Here’s a much better solution: peanut butter. Yes, peanut butter.

Get a dessert spoon of peanut butter and a teaspoon of psyllium husk and mix them together in a coffee cup. It takes about 30 seconds and you’ll need to squeeze the peanut butter a bit before it absorbs all the husk. When you’re done, it will look a bit like a raw biscuit.

Step 2: eat it.

Wow… so much better! Not only is the fibre palatable, but the buzz from the peanut butter is like black coffee. It’s an awesome way to get some extra fibre into your diet without spending a fortune. 

You’ll never go back!

(Two things to note: (1) the peanut butter might get stuck in your teeth, which is annoying, but not as annoying as (2) the psyllium husk will expand in water, and it might get caught in your throat. Make sure you drink plenty of water afterwards to flush your system.)

Leave a Reply

