Harness the Distant Galaxy of Time

I shall try my best not to sound like a self-help guru. This might be difficult.

Anyway, lately I have been feeling overwhelmed. It doesn’t matter what part of the day I am in, I am always doing something I don’t want to do. Stuck in traffic, answering emails, doing the laundry. Simple problems that have existed for years, but this week? This week it sucks.

Why? Partly, of course, because large chunks of time are devoted to chores: cleaning, cooking, making a living. Some are rigid, others less so, but they still remain. I can try and stream-line some things, but they will still exist. Nobody will wash my jocks unless I do… Well, my wife will, but I like to carry my share of the load. There have been too many chores this week. It has become overwhelming.

So what’s the solution? No idea! I’m no self-help guru, remember? All I know is that I am following a beacon towards time, like a pole star. It is getting fainter and fainter and now I can hardly see it. I know what I want to do- write, edit, create- but finding the time? More importantly, finding the energy? It is proving impossible.

But here are a few things I plan to try:

  1. Prioritise. Writing needs to be Number One on my list of things to do. Even if it is just a little bit.
  2. Exercise. It doesn’t take very long, and it always makes me feel better. I have skipped it lately because of the heat and the chores and the… Hell, it doesn’t matter why, it only matters that I have skipped it. I need to get back into it.
  3. Be calm. Possibly the hardest item on the list. People like to share their stress, their panic, their urgency. Hell, I’m writing a blog to share mine. It is hard not to let it in, but I have to try harder. Panic solves nothing, and anything that is urgent is already too late to save. Calm. Quiet. Simple. 

That’s surely enough to turn the barge of life around. TIME to follow my own advice!

Leave a Reply

