Adventures in Champagne

It’s been a while since I’ve written an update here; becomming a father will do that for you!

But, delightfully, becomming a dad has also let me cross off something I have been meaning to taste for years.

Keen readers will know I was on the hunt for Taittinger champagne. I thought the birth of a child was as good a reason as any to buy myself a bottle. I did; James Bond was wrong. It just wasn’t that great. The champagne (sorry- Australian Sparkling) I normally buy can sometimes be had for $8 a bottle, and it is a more satisfying drop. That might he sacrilege, but there you go.

However, there was another bottle of champagne I wanted to try: Blue Top champagne (Heidsieck & co, Monopole Blue Top champagne NV, which is a bit of a mouthful!) I’ve spent three years hunting this bottle down. Now, perhaps in France it is on tap in the streets, but here in Aus it is damn rare. The closest I had gotten was a bottle shop in Tasmania that stocked it. It was closed.

But why this champagne? Well, this is the champagne that was served on the Titanic. A proper piece of history.

Anyway, an old friend of my darling wife brought over a bottle of champagne to celebrate the birth of our daughter. And what did she bring? The wine of Titanic.

And it was delicious.

Leave a comment